Photo Challenge: It IS Easy Being Green!

I have so many visually green photos from Japan and it’s too hard to choose ones to post, so I’m narrowing it down by region. The following photos are from a trip I took to Okayama Prefecture. It ended up being one of my favorite places in Japan and very GREEN.


First up – Korakuen Garden, Okayama City. Lots of green, but not a very sunny day (unfortunately). It’s considered one of Japan’s three best gardens  and has lots of green lawns. The park is located right next to Okayama Castle.


Bikan Historical Area, Kurashiki, Okayama Prefecture. This is Kurashiki’s historical canal route, used to transport rice. The canals are lined with weeping willow trees and some of the original storehouses are still there. One of the shops in this area was all cats. So many cats that it even played cats singing Christmas music and had a pet cat in a big glass box.


Kibi Dango – The pink are peach flavor and the green are muscat grape. Kibi Dango are Okayama’s famous mini mochi sweet and are associated with Momotaro, who is also pictured on the packaging. Before I went to Okayama, one of my coworkers had told me about them so I knew to look for them. They were pretty much everywhere and hard to miss.


Ivy Square, Kurashiki, Okayama Prefecture – Known for, well… being covered in ivy, of course! Some of the brick buildings are original to Japan’s first cotton mill. There were some cute turtles in the ponds.


Have a lovely green day, everyone!

