I’ve got an extremely riveting video to share! Three minutes of looking at a basalt quarry. Interesting, right? According to geology websites that know much more on the subject than I do, basalt is typically formed by lava overflow and is present in most countries. I really don’t know what else to say about this, but here’s one in Dhamar, Yemen.

Oh! I took a look at their website and it looks like this is a new company that’s in the business of exporting rocks from this quarry. I’m not sure HOW one exactly gets this product out of Yemen, (their website shows freight shipments out of Hodeidah/Al Hudaydah), but there ya go. I guess rocks aren’t suspicious enough for anyone to block or steal. Basalt is used in construction projects, such as adding it to concrete and asphalt.

Screenshot 2017-08-10 at 4.52.22 PM.png

